GrantSonar vs Grantboost
Grantboost caps your projects. GrantSonar checks your eligibility — and never caps a paid plan.
Both tools draft, and both market discovery. The difference is what stands behind each match — GrantSonar scores live, open opportunities against your org's actual eligibility, backed by 4.6 million itemized 990 grant records and a 3-model review of the draft — and what happens as you grow: Grantboost caps every tier at 5, 20 and 50 active projects, with overage billed beyond the cap.
Grantboost: capped project tiers
Grantboost bundles paste-in drafting with discovery, AI mission matching, 990 insights and pipeline features. Every tier is priced by active projects — capped at 5, 20 and 50 — with overage billed per project beyond the cap.
GrantSonar: verified matching, no caps
GrantSonar scores every live, open opportunity against your org's actual eligibility — legal type, geography, programs — attaches the funder's real giving history from 4.6 million itemized 990 records, drafts grounded in the actual NOFO, and runs a 3-model AI council review of the draft. Paid plans never cap projects or meter AI.
An honest side-by-side
Both tools draft and market discovery — the differences are the eligibility check, the record depth, the review, and the caps.
| Capability | Grantboost | GrantSonar |
|---|---|---|
| Eligibility-checked matching of live opportunities | AI mission matching + alerts | Scored + AI fit judge |
| Uncapped active projects on paid plans | Project allowances; middle-tier card says 20, table says 15 | Yes |
| Itemized 990 grant records behind matching | Itemized-record scale not specified on reviewed pages | 4.6M itemized records |
| AI drafting | Yes | Grounded in your matches + profile |
| Multi-model AI review of drafts | Not publicly advertised | Yes |
| Free tier | Free plan advertised in FAQ; limits not specified there | Includes matched grants |
| Developer API + free MCP server | None published | Yes |
| White-label agency delivery & per-client billing | Agency workspaces, white-label and client billing advertised; confirm packaging | — |
Grantboost features and tier structure per grantboost.io/pricing, verified September 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us: [email protected].
What Grantboost does well
- A focused, paste-in-and-go drafting experience
- Agency workspaces with white-label delivery and per-client billing
Note the trade: every Grantboost tier caps active projects — 5, 20 and 50, with per-project overage — and its matching is mission-keyword based. GrantSonar's paid plans cap nothing, and every match is eligibility-checked against live, open opportunities before it reaches your list.
Where GrantSonar is stronger
- Eligibility-aware fit assessments with evidence to review before writing
- Paid-plan drafting without active-project metering; Grantboost publishes project allowances
- 4.6 million itemized 990 grant records behind the matching and drafting
- A free tier for seeing your matches before paying, plus a developer API and free MCP server
Find the grants worth writing — free.
Before you draft, know which grants are actually a fit. Build a profile and see your matches.
Start freeGrantSonar vs Grantboost: common questions
How much does Grantboost cost?
Grantboost publishes Find Grants at $32/mo, Find + Write Grants at $49/mo, and Autopilot at $66/mo billed annually; its FAQ lists month-to-month prices of $39, $59, and $79. Its FAQ also advertises a free plan. The pricing card and table disagree on the middle-tier project allowance (20 versus 15); confirm capacity before purchase. Figures read from grantboost.io/pricing on 2026-09-14.
What do Grantboost’s tiers actually include?
Grantboost’s FAQ places discovery on Find Grants and proposal drafting on Find + Write Grants and Autopilot. Its pricing page contains conflicting project limits, so confirm your intended workload with the vendor. GrantSonar combines fit assessment, funder research, and unmetered paid-plan drafting without active-project metering.
What is the difference between Grantboost and GrantSonar?
Grantboost advertises mission matching, current opportunities, deadline alerts, and proposal drafting. GrantSonar brings organization-specific fit assessments, source evidence, funder history, and a multi-model draft review into one workflow. Compare the reasons behind your matches before investing time in an application.
Is Grantboost’s Autopilot tier the same as GrantSonar Autopilot?
No. The two products are unrelated. Grantboost’s Autopilot is a plan listed at $66/mo billed annually or $79 month-to-month; it advertises unlimited seats and custom capacity beyond its project allowance.
Does Grantboost include a grant database?
Grantboost markets discovery across a large source pool with weekly alerts. GrantSonar’s difference is verification depth: matches are limited to live, open opportunities checked against your organization’s eligibility, with the funder’s real 990 giving history attached from 4.6 million itemized records.
What happens when I exceed my Grantboost project limit?
Grantboost lets you archive a project to free capacity. Its table lists pay-per-project expansion for Autopilot and its FAQ offers custom plans; confirm the applicable allowance and terms, especially because the middle-tier card and table disagree. GrantSonar’s paid drafting workflow has no active-project meter.
Which should a first-time grant writer choose?
Start on GrantSonar’s free tier and see which grants your organization actually qualifies for before spending anything — then review eligibility and source evidence before choosing an application. Grantboost also advertises a free plan; check its current limits with the vendor.
Sources and last verification
Every price on this page was read from the vendor’s own published pricing on the date shown. Vendors change pricing without notice — if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
- Grantboost published pricing — verified September 2026
- GrantSonar pricing